New College Florida

I had some extra time on my hands while waiting for my husband’s plane to arrive in Sarasota one day SO, I decided to spend the afternoon walking through the New College campus; it’s a charming campus and I fell in love with it when my oldest child visited it a year ago, so I was very pleased to be able to stroll through the empty campus during the summer and take pictures at my leisure!

New College campus has its roots in the Ringling family. You can find out the history of the property here:

http://sites.ncf.edu/baram/HeritageStudies/a-grass-roots-heritage-project-charles-ringling-mansion

Unlike my oldest who began this travel blog many years ago, I am VERY much into the pretty picture side of things and this is a great opportunity for me to share some of my favorite photos of the inside of the mansion and my stroll around the campus.

The trees! Oh my! One of my favorite parts of that day was looking at all the grand trees! I’m an artist; what can I say? There were a couple of specimens that just have the best negative space branches I’ve ever seen and I’m delighted to say that most of them withstood all that Hurricane Ian had to throw at them last fall.

What do you think?